Marriage and Civil Ceremonies

Choose Argyll Love Argyll

Areas of Argyll and Bute

‘It is your day so we do it your way’

Argyll and Bute has 23 inhabited islands, including Bute, Islay, Jura, Mull, Iona, Coll and Tiree, more than any other local authority in Scotland.  The area is also home to Loch Awe (at 41 km, the longest freshwater loch in Scotland) and several long sea lochs, which bisect the landscape. 

Everyone loves a wedding – and Argyll and Bute is no exception. If you are planning a special ceremony in the future, take a look at what the Argyll and Bute area has to offer.

Campbeltown is situated on the peninsula of Kintyre and is one of the largest town in Argyll and a former Royal Burgh of Argyll.

Campbeltown registration covers Campbeltown, Southend, Machrihanish, Stewarton, Drumlemble, Peninver, Saddell, Torrisdale, Carradale, Kilkenzie, Bellochantuy, Muasdale, Glenbarr, Tayinloan, Isle of Gigha and any other locations on the A83 up to Ronachan.

Cowal lies at the gateway to the Highlands and also provides the marine gateway to Scotland’s first national park, the Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park.

Dunoon registration office covers the areas of Toward, Kirn, Hunters Quay, Strone, Blairmore, Ardentinny, Loch Eck, Strachur, Strathlachlan, St Catherines, Carrick Castle, Lochgoilhead, Ormidale, Tighnabruaich, Portavadie, Kilfinan and surrounding villages.

Founded by Sir James Colquhoun and named after his wife, Lady Helen, Helensburgh is Argyll and Bute’s largest town. Situated on the north shore of the River Clyde opposite Greenock, Helensburgh provides beautiful views of the estuary and beyond

Helensburgh registration office covers the areas of Arrochar, Shandon, Luss, Cove, Rhu, Cardross, Colgrain, Ardgartan, Kilcreggan, Rosneath, Helensburgh and a large area of Loch Lomond.

Islay (pronounced eye-la) lies on the West Coast of Scotland within the group of islands known as the Inner Hebrides.

Islay registration office covers the islands of Islay and Jura.

Twenty-four miles south of Inveraray on the A83 is the town of Lochgilphead, home to Argyll and Bute Council headquarters based at Kilmory Castle.

Lochgilphead registration office covers the area of Cairndow, Inveraray, Minard, Ardrishaig, Tarbert, Portsonachan, Furnace, Lochgair, Auchindrain, Craobh Haven

The Island of Mull is the second largest island of the Inner Hebrides and Iona lies off the west coast of Mull.

Mull registration office covers the islands of Mull, Iona, and Coll.

Oban is a vibrant resort town it occupies a setting in the Firth of Lorn. The bay is a near perfect horseshoe, protected by the island of Kerrera and beyond Kerrera, the isle of Mull. To the north, is the long low island of Lismore.

Oban registration office covers the area of Dalmally, Connel, Taynuilt, Port Appin, Loch Awe, Benderloch, Bridge of Orchy, Kilchrenan, Musdale, Ardanaiseig, Isle of Luing, Colonsay and Lismore.

At the heart of the Firth of the Clyde lies the beautiful island of Bute,

Rothesay registration office covers the island of Bute.

Tiree is the most westerly island of the Inner Hebrides. Tiree is renowned for its world-famous surf and enjoys more sunshine than practically anywhere else in the UK, earning the island its nickname the Hawaii of the North.

Tiree registration office covers the island of Tiree.

More information on our smaller islands – Gigha, Jura, Coll, Iona, Easdale, Colonsay, Kerrera, Luing and Lismore.