Community Councils

There are currently 56 Community Councils within Argyll and Bute, covering every geographical area from Cardross in the east to the island of Tiree in the west.

Community Councils are the first or the “grass roots” tier of statutory representation in Scotland. They bridge the gap between local authorities and communities, and help ensure that public authorities are aware of the opinions and needs of the communities they represent.

While their primary statutory purpose is to represent the views of their community to the local authority and other public bodies, most Community Councils also involve themselves in a wide range of other activities which might include fundraising for local projects, running community and educational events, or organising environmental projects.

Review of the Scheme for Establishment of Community Councils

At the Council meeting on 30 November 2017 it was agreed to give notice of the intention to adopt a draft revised Scheme for the Amendment of Community Councils.  The notice will run from 8 December 2018 and will expire on 19 January 2018 and comments on the draft amended Scheme are invited from the public during this period.   The Notice of Review and associated documents can be view via our review page which will be updated during the course of the consultation.

Representation and elections


Community Engagement/Development

Useful Information