Voting opens for Argyll and Bute Design Awards

The awards recognise, promote and celebrate examples of exceptional design and sustainability across the whole of the Argyll and Bute Council planning area.


Vote for your favourite entry on the Invest in Argyll and Bute website - Voting closes on 15 May 2023.


As the council works towards becoming net zero by 2045, the focus this year is on sustainability and celebrating design that meets the highest standards of energy efficiency.


Shortlisted entries

All the shortlisted projects completed between 1 July 2015 and 31 December 2022. They include:


  • Asknish House, Lochgilphead
  • Barochan Place, Campbeltown
  • Burgh Hall, Dunoon
  • Campbeltown Picture House
  • Charcoal Huts, Bute
  • Dunoon Primary School
  • Egg Shed, Ardrishaig
  • Eilean de Mheinn, Crinan
  • Helensburgh Leisure Centre
  • Hundred Acre Wood, Dalmally
  • Iona Abbey
  • Lochend Affordable Housing
  • Mannal House, Tiree
  • Queens Hall Public Realm, Dunoon
  • Rockfield Centre, Oban
  • St Comghan’s Chapel, Loch Melfort
  • Stafford Street, Helensburgh
  • Taigh an Ailtire, Tiree
  • Waterfall Bay House, Loch Melfort



Councillor Kieron Green, Policy Lead for Planning and Regulatory Services:


“People continue to be attracted to live, work, and visit Argyll and Bute by our stunning landscape and quality design.


Reducing carbon emissions and addressing climate change are key elements to sustainable development locally. The shortlist therefore not only celebrates design, but also recognises innovative ways buildings can help support our environment. I have been deeply impressed by the standard of entries this year, and hope these will inspire future design projects across the area.”



If you would like to discuss any details about the Awards please contact Kim de Buiteléir, Design and Conservation Officer:
Phone: 01546 604126

Did you find what you were looking for?

Why wasn't this information helpful

Limit to 250 characters.