Argyll and Bute by-election candidates confirmed

The candidates standing for election in the Argyll and Bute Council Lomond North ward have now been confirmed.

There is one vacant seat in the Lomond North ward and the by-election takes place on 16 December 2021.

The election candidates are listed below in alphabetical order:

  • Paul Collins (Scottish Conservative and Unionist)
  • Mark Irvine (Independent)
  • Robert MacIntyre (Independent)
  • Ken Smith (Scottish National Party)

Since 2007, councillors in Scotland have been elected using the Single Transferable Vote (STV) system. This allows voters to express a preference for more than one candidate by ranking them in order.  

Information about how to mark your vote is provided on your polling card/your postal voting pack and within polling stations. This doesn’t tell you who to vote for, but shows you how to mark your choices correctly on your ballot paper on the day or on your postal vote. 

Find the list of candidates and more information about the Argyll and Bute Council by-election at SLG Notice of poll and situation of polling stations (

You can also find more information about the election including the polling stations which will be used for this by-election at Notice of by-election - Lomond North 16th December 2021 (

Did you find what you were looking for?

Why wasn't this information helpful

Limit to 250 characters.