Community Council By-Elections 2 May 2024

Community Council By-Elections took place for all Community Councils within the Argyll and Bute Area in May 2024.

The closing date for nominations was 21 March 2024.  If a Community Council received less nominations than there were vacancies a poll (voting) does not need to take place. The Notices of Uncontested Elections lists all the Community Councils and Candidates for whom polling does not need to take place. On 2 May, those Candidates will formally become Community Councillors for their local Community Council.  Click on the areas below to view the details of the successful candidates.

Notices of Uncontested Elections

Mid Argyll, Kintyre and the Islands

Oban, Lorn and the Isles 

Bute and Cowal

Helensburgh and Lomond 

Contested Community Council HELENSBURGH – voting required

The Notice of Poll provides the names and addresses of the candidates who stood for election and Candidate Statements if submitted are also provided.


Declaration of Results for Helensburgh Community Council election.

Further information

There are currently 56 Community Councils within Argyll and Bute, covering every geographical area from Cardross in the east to the islands in the west. 

Community Councils are voluntary bodies which exist within a statutory framework and which have been granted statutory rights of consultation. The general purpose of a Community Council is to ascertain, co-ordinate an express the wider views of the entire community within its agreed boundaries. They can complement the role of the local authority but are not part of local government. Their role is to ascertain in an active way the views of their communities in terms of local issues, needs and wishes and to convey these views to Argyll and Bute Council.

Notices of Election

Did you find what you were looking for?

Why wasn't this information helpful

Limit to 250 characters.