Road Opening Permit

A Road Opening Permit is required as per section 109 of the New Roads and Street Works Act 1991, for anyone other than an Undertaker, (e.g. Scottish Gas, Scottish Water or BT), who requires to open up the public road or verge to carry out works, (e.g. footway and kerb work for driveway and road connections for housing developments).

Make an application

Completing your application

How to apply

Apply Online

or you can download a form here.

Forms can also be obtained by contacting us on 01546 605514

There is a fee for this permit, see these below.

*The completed application should be returned to the appropriate area office for processing at least seven working days prior to any proposed start date and works should only commence when in receipt of actual permit.

 

Contact Details

Contact Details

Area

Postal Address/E Mail

Telephone

Ian Thomson - Bute

110 High Street, Rothesay, Isle of Bute, PA20 0HD. ian.thomson@argyll-bute.gov.uk

01700 501391
Dougie Lang - Kintyre

Burnet Building, St.John Street, Campbeltown, PA28 6BJ  dougie.lang@argyll-bute.gov.uk

01586 559028
Hugh McGregor - Oban, Tiree and Coll

Jackson Quarry, Millpark Road Depot, Oban, PA34 4NH  hugh.mcgregor@argyll-bute.gov.uk

01631 567937
James Daly - Helensburgh

Blairvaddach House, Shandon, Helensburgh, G84 4ND  james.daly@argyll-bute.gov.uk

01436 658869
Michael Broderick - Mid Argyll

Manse Brae, Lochgilphead, PA31 8RD michael.broderick@argyll-bute.gov.uk

01546 604888
Fraser Smith -  Cowal

Victoria Road Depot, Dunoon, PA23 7AP fraser.smith2@argyll-bute.gov.uk

01369 708983
Kaz Bailey - MullBalisgate Depot, Tobermory, Isle of Mull, PA75 6QA  kaz.bailey@argyll-bute.gov.uk01688 301021
David Ferrier - IslayKilarrow House, Bowmore, Isle of Islay, PA43 7HW  david.ferrier@argyll-bute.gov.uk01496 301362

 

Make an application

Fees

Road Opening Charges 2017/18

ActivityCharge 2017/18
Permission to open up Highway by non Statutory Organisations - Commercial (for new developments and service connections)£217.00
Permission to open up Highway by non Statutory Organisations - Residential (formation of vehicle access/dropped kerbs)£110.00

 

Inspections as a result of Road Openings

The Roads Authority may charge for inspections of any works where a permit has been granted. These charges are set by the Roads Authority and Utility Commission (Scotland) 

DescriptionCost
1st Inspection£36.00
Further Inspections (each inspection)£36.00