Scottish Parliamentary Elections 2016

Argyll and Bute Scottish Parliamentary Election result

Full list of Region results

Full list of Constituency results

Scottish Parliamentary elections take place every 5 years.  The last election was held on 5 May 2016.

Read the voter information leaflet for the May 5th election

The close of Nominations was 4.00pm on Friday 1 April 2016:

The Timetable for the Scottish Parliament Election can be viewed here. 

The Scottish Parliament is the law-making body for devolved matters in Scotland.

It is made up of 129 Members of the Scottish Parliament (MSPs) who are elected by the people in Scotland to work on their behalf and make decisions on devolved issues.

Everyone in Scotland is represented by 8 MSPs:

  • One for their constituency (Argyll and Bute)
  • Seven for the larger region in which they live (for example, Highlands and Islands) 

The Electoral Commission has published Guidance for Regional and Constituency Candidates and Agents


In our area we have one constituency:

  • Argyll and Bute

The local constituency MSPs are elected under the 'first past the post' voting system which means the candidate with the most votes is elected to serve as an MSP in your local constituency area.

The Electoral Commission has published Guidance for Constituency Candidates and Agents.


The Highlands and Islands region is made up of the following constituencies:

  • Caithness, Sutherland and Ross
  • Skye, Lochaber and Badenoch
  • Inverness and Nairn
  • Shetland
  • Orkney
  • Moray
  • Argyll and Bute
  • Na h-Eileanan an Iar

The region is represented by seven MSPs.

Regional MSPs are elected using the 'party list system' which means you vote for your preferred party or individual candidate. The regional candidates are elected to serve as MSPs depending on the number of seats won by each political party.