Oban South and the Isles By-Election 22 May 2014


Votes were counted at the council chambers in Kilmory on Friday 23rd May. The results are summarised as follows:

Ward 4 – Oban South and the Isles

Neil MacIntyre, Scottish Labour Party – elected at stage 5 with 918 first preferences and after application of the election rules.

Iain Stewart MacLean, Scottish National Party – 980 first preferences

David Pollard, Scottish Liberal Democrats – 635 first preferences

John MacGregor, Independent - 616 first preferences

Andrew Vennard, Scottish Conservative and Unionist - 345 first preferences

Three thousand, nine hundred and ninety four valid votes were cast in the by-election with a percentage turnout of 43.55 per cent. Thirty one votes were rejected.

The full breakdown of the results can be found in the attached file:  Oban South and the Isles By-Election 22 May 2014 - Full Results

Elections Scotland guidance document - This explains what voting information we are required to publish.


The by-election for the election of one Member for Oban South & the Isles Ward of Argyll and Bute Council took place on Thursday 22 May 2014.

Nominations from prospective candidates were invited up to 4.00pm on Wednesday 16 April 2014.  The statement of persons nominated, notice of poll and list of election agents can be found using the links below

Oban South & the Isles Ward includes the main town of Oban and the Islands of Mull, Iona, Coll and Tiree with a total electorate of around 8,000 people. Copies of the Public Notice giving details of the election arrangements were posted in a range of locations including the Council’s area offices.

Electors wishing to apply for a postal or proxy vote should contact the Electoral Registration Officer for Argyll and Bute at Kilbrannan House, Bolgam Street, Campbeltown or on 0800 9800470 or visit www.dab-vjb.gov.uk.

Microsoft Office document icon notice.doc40.5 KB
Microsoft Office document icon timetable.doc39 KB
Microsoft Office document icon faq.doc30 KB