Oban North and Lorn By-Election 17 July 2014


Votes were counted in the Corran Halls, Oban, after the close of poll (10pm) on Thursday 17th July 2014.  The results are summarised as follows:

John MacGregor, Independent - elected at stage 5 with 548 first preferences and after application of the election rules

Gerry Fisher, Scottish National Party (SNP) – 595 first preferences

Kieron Green, Scottish Labour Party – 526 first preferences

Andrew Vennard, Scottish Conservative and Unionist - 445 first preferences

Marri Malloy, Independent – 301 first preferences

Two thousand, four hundred and fifteen (2,415) valid votes were cast with a percentage turnout of 30.88 per cent. Twenty eight votes were rejected

The full breakdown of the results can be found in the attached file:  Oban North and Lorn by-election 17 July 2014 - Full results

Elections Scotland Guidance document - This explains what voting information we are required to publish.


The by-election for the election of one Member for the Oban North and Lorn Ward of Argyll and Bute Council took place on Thursday 17 July 2014.

Nominations from prospective candidates were invited from Friday 30 May, up to 4.00pm on Monday 16 June 2014.  The statement of persons nominated can be found using the links below, along with the notice of election, timetable, and list of election agents.

The Oban North and Lorn Ward includes the areas surrounding Oban from Kilmelford to Bridge of Orchy, and has an electorate of just over 8,000 people.

Copies of the Public Notice giving details of the election arrangements were posted in a range of locations including the Council’s area offices.