First meeting of new council

exclamation icon
This page contains archived news material that may no longer be accurate. Please bear this in mind when referring to this page or using any information on it to access council services. Read our current news.

Published Date: 

18 May 2017 - 15:51

The first meeting of the new Argyll and Bute Council, following the elections of 4 May, took place today (Thursday 18 May 2017) in the Council Chambers, Kilmory, Lochgilphead.

The following were elected:

Provost:                      Councillor Len Scoullar

Depute Provost:     Councillor Roddy McCuish

Council Leader:       Councillor Aileen Morton

Depute Leader:       Councillor Gary Mulvaney


Policy Leads

Policy Lead for Corporate Services: Councillor Rory Colville

Policy Lead for Communities, Housing, Islands and Gaelic: Councillor Robin Currie

Policy Lead for Health and Social Care/Chair or Vice Chair of Integrated Joint Board: Councillor Kieron Green

Policy Lead for Planning and Regulatory Services: Councillor David Kinniburgh

Policy Lead for Roads and Amenity Services: Councillor Roddy McCuish

Policy Lead for Education: Councillor Yvonne McNeilly

Policy Lead for Economic Development: Councillor Aileen Morton

Policy Lead for Strategic Finance and Capital Regeneration Programme: Councillor Gary Mulvaney


The Composition of the Council was noted as follows: 

Full details of the appointment of elected members to committees, and outside bodies and organisations, will shortly be available on the Council website.