Argyll and Bute Scottish Parliamentary Election result

exclamation icon
This page contains archived news material that may no longer be accurate. Please bear this in mind when referring to this page or using any information on it to access council services. Read our current news.

Published Date: 

6 May 2016 - 06:19

 Michael Russell, Scottish National Party (SNP) has been elected as the Member of the Scottish Parliament for Argyll and Bute.

The result has been declared as follows:

CAMERON, Donald, Scottish Conservative and Unionist - 5840

REID, Alan, Scottish Liberal Democrats - 7583

RICE, Mick, Scottish Labour Party - 2492

RUSSELL, Michael, Scottish National Party (SNP) - 13561

The total electorate for the Argyll and Bute constituency was 48526 with 29592 votes cast.

The turnout at the polls was 60.98%

A total of 116 votes were rejected. Seven were rejected for voting for more than one candidate; and 109 were unmarked or void for certainty.

Alongside postal votes and proxies, votes made their way across Argyll and Bute in ballot boxes transported by car, boat, and helicopter to be counted at Lochgilphead Joint Campus.

Returning Officer Sally Loudon said: “Argyll and Bute has 23 inhabited islands and is the second largest council area in Scotland. A great deal of careful planning therefore has to be done to organise the transportation of ballot boxes by air, land and sea. The knowledge and experience of our election team is backed up by detailed planning and a well-established process.

“I would like to thank everyone involved in ensuring that the count ran smoothly in Argyll and Bute.”