Scottish Biker Magazine 2015

exclamation icon
This page contains archived news material that may no longer be accurate. Please bear this in mind when referring to this page or using any information on it to access council services. Read our current news.

Published Date: 

16 Mar 2015 - 12:40

The second edition of a magazine aimed at motorcyclists who ride in the West of Scotland is being distributed free of charge throughout the area.

Scottish Biker Magazine is a collaborative initiative, delivered through Road Safety West of Scotland, and supported by the region’s 12 local authorities, Police Scotland and Scottish Fire and Rescue.

The magazine is written ‘for bikers by bikers’ and aims to give information on all aspects of riding including basic skills and advanced training, and tips on maintenance and equipment. It includes popular routes and covers the types of issues that bikers may come across, from the skills of cornering to where to get a cup of coffee.

Councillor Robert Steel, chair of Road Safety West of Scotland, said: “The roads in the West of Scotland are understandably very attractive to motorcyclists from all parts of the country and beyond.

“We are delighted that riders come to enjoy our scenery and our roads, but we have concerns at the number of motorcycle casualties we have seen in recent years.

“Motorcyclists are roughly 35 times more likely to be killed in a road traffic accident than car occupants, per mile ridden. We hope this magazine will help to focus the attention of bikers on all aspects of their riding.”

Scottish Biker is being distributed via motorcycle dealers and venues popular with motorcyclists, and by road safety officers in all of the council areas in the West of Scotland. It is also available digitally on the council website    

For those who wish a hard copy please e-mail  

Road Safety West of Scotland

Road Safety West of Scotland is a partnership of 12 local authorities, Police Scotland and Scottish Fire and Rescue. The 12 local authorities are: Argyll and Bute, North Lanarkshire, South Lanarkshire, North Ayrshire, South Ayrshire, East Ayrshire, Glasgow City, Inverclyde, Renfrewshire, East Renfrewshire, East Dunbartonshire and West Dunbartonshire.