Deadline looms to nominate Argyll and Bute Education Stars

exclamation icon
This page contains archived news material that may no longer be accurate. Please bear this in mind when referring to this page or using any information on it to access council services. Read our current news.

Published Date: 

2 Feb 2015 - 11:46

People in Argyll and Bute are being urged to submit nominations for this year’s Scottish Education Awards before the deadline on Monday 16 February 2015.

The awards, which celebrate the achievements of schools and teachers across Scotland, have attracted hundreds of nominations so far, but many more schools and individuals are worthy of acknowledgment.

Last year, Lochdonhead Primary in Mull and Port Ellen Primary in Islay were named as finalists, alongside Alison Currie from Dunoon Grammar School and Ailsa Cassidy from Rothesay Joint Campus, at the Scottish Education Awards 2014.  

Argyll and Bute Council’s Policy Lead for Education and Lifelong Learning, Councillor Aileen Morton, said, “This is an opportunity to show our recognition and appreciation of the excellent education provided in Argyll and Bute – recognised nationally many times over.

“These awards celebrate hard work and innovation in Scottish classrooms and over the years our schools and teaching staff have been consistently nominated, named as finalists and achieved success in a variety of different categories since the awards were established.

“Let’s make this a record breaking year and show our dedicated teaching staff how grateful we are for the efforts they put in to giving our children and young people the very best start possible.”

There is a wide variety of award categories which recognise and reward the dedication of teaching staff and educational supporters who go the extra mile.  Entry is open to all publicly funded schools including secondary, primary, nursery and special schools. 

Nominations can only be accepted online.  To nominate a school, teacher, headteacher or support staff member, or for more information on the award categories, go to 

Winners will be revealed at an awards ceremony in Glasgow later on this year.