Oban South and the Isles by-election results

exclamation icon
This page contains archived news material that may no longer be accurate. Please bear this in mind when referring to this page or using any information on it to access council services. Read our current news.

Published Date: 

23 May 2014 - 17:14

On Thursday 22nd May there was a by-election for one seat in Argyll and Bute Council’s Oban South and the Isles ward. Votes were counted at the council chambers in Kilmory on Friday 23rd May. The results are summarised as follows:

Ward 4 – Oban South and the Isles

Neil MacIntyre, Scottish Labour Party – elected at stage 5 with 918 first preferences and after application of the election rules.

Iain Stewart MacLean, Scottish National Party – 980 first preferences

David Pollard, Scottish Liberal Democrats – 635 first preferences

John MacGregor, Independent - 616 first preferences

Andrew Vennard, Scottish Conservative and Unionist - 345 first preferences

Three thousand, four hundred and ninety four (3,494) valid votes were cast in the by-election with a percentage turnout of 43.55 per cent. Thirty one votes were rejected.

More detailed results will be published in due course - please check www.argyll-bute.gov.uk/elections