Oban North and Lorn - by election results

exclamation icon
This page contains archived news material that may no longer be accurate. Please bear this in mind when referring to this page or using any information on it to access council services. Read our current news.

Published Date: 

18 Jul 2014 - 00:44

On Thursday 17 July there was a by-election for one seat in Argyll and Bute Council’s Oban North and Lorn ward. Votes have been counted. The results are summarised as follow:

John MacGregor, Independent - elected at stage 5 with 548 first preferences and after application of the election rules

Gerry Fisher, Scottish National Party (SNP) – 595 first preferences

Kieron Green, Scottish Labour Party – 526 first preferences

Andrew Vennard, Scottish Conservative and Unionist - 445 first preferences

Marri Malloy, Independent – 301 first preferences

Two thousand, four hundred and fifteen (2,415) valid votes were cast with a percentage turnout of 30.88 per cent. Twenty eight votes were rejected.

More detailed results will be published at www.argyll-bute.gov.uk/elections