By-election for South Kintyre on 11th December

exclamation icon
This page contains archived news material that may no longer be accurate. Please bear this in mind when referring to this page or using any information on it to access council services. Read our current news.

Published Date: 

1 Dec 2014 - 15:01

VOTERS in South Kintyre are encouraged to take part in the local authority by-election on Thursday 11th December.

There is one vacant seat within the Argyll and Bute Council South Kintyre ward, which covers the area from Saddell Glen down to the Mull of Kintyre, including Campbeltown. It has an electorate of around 5,400 people.

Polling stations will be open from 7am until 10pm on election day.  People in Campbeltown itself should go to Kintyre Community Education Centre on Stewart Road to vote.  There are also polling stations at Machrihanish Golf Club; MacVicar Rooms, Southend Parish Church; and Peninver Village Hall. Your polling card will have a note of your local polling station.

Four candidates are standing for election, listed below in alphabetical order:

John Armour (Scottish National Party)

Charlotte Hanbury (Scottish Conservative and Unionist)

Michael Kelly (Scottish Labour Party)

Joyce Oxborrow (Scottish Liberal Democrats)

The counting of votes will start at 10.30pm on the night of the election and after polls close at 10pm. The results will be published on Argyll and Bute Council’s website as soon as possible.

There is more information about the South Kintyre by-election at