Phase two of Community Council consultation gets underway

exclamation icon
This page contains archived news material that may no longer be accurate. Please bear this in mind when referring to this page or using any information on it to access council services. Read our current news.

Published Date: 

7 May 2013 - 16:02


Argyll and Bute Council is undertaking a Review of the Scheme for the Establishment of Community Councils, including boundaries. The review started in February and the council is now consulting on the recommendations that have come through the first stage of the consultation process. 


Community Councils make a valuable contribution to the development of Argyll and Bute through their engagement in localised community planning, their representation of community views and their promotion and delivery of local activities.  


This is an important opportunity for anyone who is interested to identify any issues with the current arrangements and make suggestions for improvements. The council has acted on the suggestions it received through the first phase of consultation and would welcome further feedback on the second phase of the process.  


The recommendations include proposed boundary changes in respect of six Community Councils. These are Hunter’s Quay, Dunoon, Kilmun, Colintraive and Glendaruel, Campbeltown and East Kintyre. 


Council Leader, James Robb, said “The proposed amendments made after feedback from phase one of the consultation are now being sent to all community councils and are available on our website Community Council Review Consultation. It is really important that we get further feedback to ensure the scheme continues to meet the needs and aspirations of our local communities”. 


Phase two of the consultation closes at midnight on Sunday 2 June and it is anticipated that recommendations on the revised scheme and associated documents will go to the council for approval in June at the earliest. Once the review is finished, Argyll and Bute Council will agree a date in autumn 2013 for Community Council Elections. These are scheduled on a four-yearly cycle.