Play, Talk, Read Roadshow comes to Argyll and Bute

Published Date: 

25 Feb 2013 - 10:04

The Play, Talk, Read roadshow is touring Argyll and Bute during February and March. It is part of a campaign from the Scottish Government’s campaign focusing on the early years of children’s lives. 

This national drive – which includes TV adverts, a one-stop website for parents of young children and provides free items (to help children’s learning and development) – is aimed at helping parents stimulate their children from birth through low-cost, fun activities.

The familiar purple Play, Talk, Read bus will be stationed in different places throughout Argyll and Bute for parents, grandparents, carers and playgroups to access easily. 

Lead Councillor for Education, Michael Breslin said, “The aim of this project is to offer practical support and ideas on how to create the best foundations for children’s development. It has been very successful in the past two years and it is important to help young children and babies to enjoy themselves, grow and gain new skills. Children can only learn to talk by being talked to by everyone they come into contact with. I encourage as many people to come along as possible.”

Having already been well received in Mid Argyll, Kintyre and Islay, the bus will next be visiting Oban, Taynuilt and the Isle of Mull before ending the tour in Inveraray, Cowal, the Isle of Bute and Helensburgh and Lomond during March. See below for remaining dates:

Monday 25 February – Ledaig Car Park, Tobermory, Isle of Mull

Tuesday 26 February – Bunessan, Isle of Mull (car park on the front)

Wednesday 27 February – Taynuilt School

Wednesday 6 March – Main street, Inveraray (am)/Memorial Hall, Strachur (pm)

Thursday 7 March – Rothesay Pavilion, Isle of Bute

Friday 8 March – Dolphin Hall, Dunoon

Saturday 9 March – Queen’s Hall, Dunoon

Sunday 10 March – Village Hall, Innellan

Monday 11 March – Garelochhead Primary School (tbc)

Tuesday 12 March – Kilcreggan Primary School

Wednesday 13 March – Helensburgh (car Park on the front)

Thursday 14 March – Kirkmichael Community Centre

Friday 15 March – Church Hall, Cardross

 

For more information on locations contact the Early Years Service on 01369 704000.

More information can also be found at www.playtalkread.org