Deadline to nominate Argyll and Bute education stars

exclamation icon
This page contains archived news material that may no longer be accurate. Please bear this in mind when referring to this page or using any information on it to access council services. Read our current news.

Published Date: 

4 Feb 2013 - 11:39

People in Argyll and Bute are being urged to enter local schools, nurseries or individuals into the Scottish Education Awards 2013 before the deadline for submissions on Friday 22 February 2013.

The awards, which celebrate the achievements of schools and teachers across Scotland, have attracted hundreds of nominations so far but many more schools and individuals are worthy of acknowledgment.

Last year’s Argyll and Bute winners were Port Ellen Primary School for Learning through Technology and Alison Robertson at Furnace Primary School who won Educational Supporter of the Year.

Lead Councillor for Education and Lifelong Learning at Argyll and Bute Council Michael Breslin said:

“The dedication and hard work of our staff, children and young people deserve to be recognised.  The Scottish Education Awards give us the opportunity to celebrate the areas brightest education stars. I encourage everyone to nominate local schools and individuals they feel have worked exceptionally hard to achieve their goals and deliver an outstanding educational experience for pupils.”

The Scottish Education Awards are open to all publicly funded schools, including secondary, primary, nursery and special schools. There are also categories to recognise and reward the dedication of teachers, head-teachers and support staff across the country.   

Nominations are currently being invited from across all 17 categories including Teacher of the Year, Global Citizenship, Literacy and Numeracy across Learning and Sustainable Schools. 

For further information and to make a nomination visit