Voting live on Argyll and Bute sustainable design awards 2012

exclamation icon
This page contains archived news material that may no longer be accurate. Please bear this in mind when referring to this page or using any information on it to access council services. Read our current news.

Published Date: 

14 May 2012 - 13:56

You can now vote on the Argyll and Bute sustainable design awards 2012. All 27 entries can now be seen on the council’s website.  

The awards recognise, promote and celebrate examples of exceptional design quality across the area.  Anyone involved in the design process has been asked to enter the planning awards including local authorities, consultants, community groups, developers, public agencies and voluntary organisations.

There are four categories for this year’s awards. They are:

  • New build residential ( single or small scale)
  • New build large scale residential development
  • New build non residential
  • Redevelopment or refurbishment of an existing building

Director of Development and Infrastructure Services, Sandy MacTaggart said “I’d encourage people to vote for their favourite design and you will be able to for the next four weeks until 10th June. Sustainability is the theme running through all four categories and this must be clearly demonstrated in the entries.  They must also clearly show the long – term positive environmental impact of the development. The public voting process will be used to help inform the short listing process which will be undertaken by the judging panel. Once the judging panel have decided on the short list – with a maximum of three nominations in each category – they will carry out site visits to each of the nominated properties.”