Argyll and Bute sustainable design awards 2012

exclamation icon
This page contains archived news material that may no longer be accurate. Please bear this in mind when referring to this page or using any information on it to access council services. Read our current news.

Published Date: 

3 Feb 2012 - 12:01

The annual Argyll and Bute design awards will run this year from Monday 13 February and until Friday 30 March.

First held in 2009 the Argyll and Bute design awards recognise, promote and celebrate examples of exceptional design quality across the area.  Anyone involved in the design process can enter the planning awards including local authorities, consultants, community groups, developers, public agencies and voluntary organisations.  However only developments which have had work carried out, or completed, between June 2009 and December 2011 will be eligible to take part.

There are four categories for this year’s awards.  They are:

  • New build residential (single or small scale)
  • New build large scale residential development
  • New build non residential
  • Redevelopment or refurbishment of an existing building

This year sustainability will be a theme which runs through all four categories and this must be clearly demonstrated in entries.  They must also clearly show the long-term positive environmental impact of the development.

Chair of the Planning, Protective Services and Licensing Committee Councillor Daniel Kelly said, “I am delighted that the council is running the design awards again this year.  Having sustainability as a theme recognises the importance the council places on renewable materials.”

Full details of the awards, including how to enter are available on our website at