Result of election to Scottish Parliament

exclamation icon
This page contains archived news material that may no longer be accurate. Please bear this in mind when referring to this page or using any information on it to access council services. Read our current news.

Published Date: 

6 May 2011 - 14:08

The result of the election for the UK parliamentary constituency of Argyll and Bute has been declared.

George Doyle, Independent 542 (2.04%)
Alison Hay, Scottish Liberal Democrats 3,220 (12.11%)
Jamie McGrigor, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party4,847 (18.22%)
Mick Rice, Scottish Labour Party 4,041 (15.19%)
Michael William Russell, Scottish National Party (SNP) 13,390 (50.35%)
George Alexander White, Liberal party (the)436 (1.64%)

Michael William Russell has therefore been elected as the Member of Scottish Parliament for Argyll and Bute.


Total electorate (2010 figures in brackets* ) :48,925          (67,165)
Turnout:  54.36% constituency and 54.49% regional  (67.47%)
Total rejected papers: 
120           (86)
Total votes cast:  26,596    (45,293)

   *2010 figures are for parliamentary election to Westminster and include voters from Helensburgh, which are included in the Dumbarton constituency for this election