Decision details


Is Key decision?: No

Is subject to call in?: No


The Council considered a report which outlined the work currently being undertaken with the Scottish public roads sector to explore and develop opportunities for greater collaboration between Roads authorities and sought approval to form a Joint Committee.




The Council agreed to:


1.     Establish a Joint Committee in terms of Section 56 and 57 of the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973 with Aberdeen City Council, Aberdeenshire Council, Angus Council, Argyll and Bute Council, Comhairle nan Eilean Siar and The Moray Council to be known as The Northern Roads Collaboration Joint Committee;


2.     Empower the Joint Committee by delegating to it the functions outlined in Appendix 1 of the report;


3.     Alter the Scheme of Delegation as outlined in Appendix 1 of the report to give immediate effect to the establishment of the Joint Committee;


4.     Authorise the Executive Director of Customer Services to enter into an inter-authority legal agreement with the other member Councils to agree the governance and administrative arrangements for the Joint Committee.


5.     Note that the decision on whether a Constituent Local Authority participate in roads collaboration projects will be reserved to the Councils and not delegated to the proposed Joint Committee;


6.      Aberdeenshire Council taking the role of Lead Authority for year 1 of the Joint Committee;


7.     The Policy Lead, Councillor McCuish and Depute Policy Lead, Councillor E Morton are to be the two named Members of the Joint Committee and that two named substitute Members be the Depute Policy Leads for Finance, Councillor Reid and Corporate Services, Councillor Vennard; and


8.     The Environment, Development and Infrastructure Committee receiving an annual report on performance, activities and achievements of the Joint Committee.


(Ref: Report by Executive Director of Development and Infrastructure dated May 2017, submitted)

Publication date: 02/10/2017

Date of decision: 28/09/2017

Decided at meeting: 28/09/2017 - Argyll and Bute Council

Accompanying Documents: