Argyll and Bute Council, Thurs 18th May 2017 - Agenda Item 10, Political Management Arrangements

The Council notes the terms of the report from the Short Life Working on Political Management Arrangements dated 20th April (hereafter referred to as the SLWG report) and:

- 1. Agrees to adopt the Traditional Committee model as set out at paragraph 4.3.2 of the SLWG report, on the basis of the current Community Services, EDI, Policy and Resources and PPSL committees in place within the council;
- 2. Accepts the recommendation in respect of Area Committees and Area Business Days, and the associated protocol, as outlined at paragraph 4.4.1 of the SLWG report, with each Area Committee meeting four times per year;
- Agrees that the functions of the existing Audit and Performance, Review and Scrutiny committees will be combined in an Audit and Scrutiny Committee, with strategic and Area Committees taking responsibility for performance review business, and with the independent chair of the existing Audit Committee being invited to chair the new body for the remainder of his term of office;
- 4. Maintains the current Planning, Protective Services and Licensing Committee arrangements as noted at paragraph 4.4.3 of the SLWG report;
- 5. Adopts the protocols for Reports for Noting and Consultations, as set out at paragraphs 4.4.4 and 4.4.5 respectively in the SLWG report;
- 6. Notes the recommendations in relation to the Argyll and Bute Harbour Board as outlined at paragraph 4.4.6 of the SLWG report and makes appointments as set out in Appendix 2;
- 7. Notes the recommendations detailed in paragraphs 4.4.7 to 4.4.11 inclusive in the SLWG report;
- 8. Notes the appointment of Policy Lead Councillors as set out in the table in Appendix 1 to this motion;
- Appoints the members, Chairs and Vice Chairs of the Audit and Scrutiny; Community Services; Environment, Development and Infrastructure; Policy and Resources; PPSL committees; four Area Committees (Bute and Cowal; Helensburgh and Lomond; Mid Argyll, Kintyre and the Islands; and Oban, Lorn and the Isles); Argyll and Bute Harbour Board; as set out in Appendix 2 to this motion;
- 10. Agrees the Programme of Meetings for a Traditional Committee Structure and dates from August 2017, as laid out in Appendix 4 to the SLWG report, page 25 of council agenda pack, and to include the following meeting dates:

PPSL – Wednesday 21st June 2017 Audit Committee – Tuesday 27th June 2017 Council – Thursday 29th June 2017 Area Committee meetings and initial Development Days: Helensburgh and Lomond – Tuesday 13th June 2017 Oban, Lorn and the Isles – Wednesday 14th June 2017 Bute and Cowal – Monday 19th June 2017 Mid Argyll, Kintyre and the Islands – Monday 26th June 2017 11. Requests the Executive Director of Customer Services to implement these and any other related decisions that the Council takes subsequently at this meeting, including arrangements for a schedule of meetings.

Mover: Cllr Aileen Morton

Seconder: Cllr Gary Mulvaney

Appendix 1 – Appointment of Policy Lead Councillors

Name	Policy Lead Role
Councillor Rory Colville	Policy Lead for Corporate Services
Councillor Robin Currie	Policy Lead for Communities, Housing, Islands and
	Gaelic
Councillor Kieron Green	Policy Lead for Health and Social Care/Chair or
	Vice Chair of Integrated Joint Board
Councillor David Kinniburgh	Policy Lead for Planning and Regulatory Services
Councillor Roddy McCuish	Policy Lead for Roads and Amenity Services
Councillor Yvonne McNeilly	Policy Lead for Education
Councillor Aileen Morton	Policy Lead for Economic Development
Councillor Gary Mulvaney	Policy Lead for Strategic Finance and Capital
	Regeneration Programme

Appendix 2 – Membership of Committees

Community Services	Environ Develor Infrastr	oment and	Policy and Resources		Planning, Protective Services and Licensing (PPSL)
Yvonne McNeilly (Chair)	Roddy N	AcCuish (Chair)	Aileen Morton (Chair)		David Kinniburgh (Chair)
Kieron Green (Vice	Ellen M	orton (Vice	Gary Mulvaney (Vice		Rory Colville (Vice
Chair)	Chair)		Chair)		Chair)
Robin Currie	Aileen N	/lorton	Roddy McCuish		Robin Currie
Jim Anderson	Gary M	ulvaney	Robin Currie		Donnie MacMillan
Mary Jean Devon	Bobby G	Good	Elaine Robertson		Graham Hardie
Rory Colville	David K	inniburgh	Rory Colville		Alastair Redman
Elaine Robertson	Alan Re	id	Yvonne McNeilly		Roddy McCuish
Graham Hardie	Donnie	MacMillan	Kieron Green		Mary Jean Devon
Barbara Morgan	Jamie N	1cGrigor	Ellen Morton		Lorna Douglas
Andrew Vennard	Alastair	Redman	Len Scoullar		Sandy Taylor
Len Scoullar	Andrew	Vennard	Alan Reid		Richard Trail
Audrey Forrest	Gordon	Blair	Sandy Taylor		Audrey Forrest
Julie McKenzie	Jim Lyne	ch	Richard Trail		Gordon Blair
Lorna Douglas	John Ar	mour	Jim Findlay		Jean Moffat
Richard Trail	Donald	Kelly	, Dougie Philand		George Freeman
Anne Horn	Jean Moffat		John Armour		
Audit and Scrutiny	Argyll and Bute Harbour Board				
Alan Reid	Roddy McCuish (Chair)				
Andrew Vennard	Ellen Morton (V Chair)				
Jamie McGrigor	Alastair Redman				
Jim Findlay	Andrew Vennard				
Julie McKenzie	Alan Reid				
George Freeman	Jim Lynch				
Sandy Taylor *	Richard Trail				
	Gordon Blair				
Area Committee		Chair		Vice Chair	
Bute and Cowal		Bobby Good		Jim And	
Helensburgh and Lomond	ł	Ellen Morton			Morgan
Mid Argyll, Kintyre and the Islands		Robin Currie		Donnie MacMillan	
Oban, Lorn and the Isles		Elaine Robertson		Jamie McGrigor	

*When the current Vice Chair's term of office expires, Councillor Sandy Taylor will assume this position.