Customer Services

29th September 2016

POLITICAL MANAGEMENT ARRANGEMENTS

1.0 EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

- 1.1 The Council at their meeting on 30th June 2016 considered a report on Political Management Arrangements and the vacancies which have arisen on the Councils Committees, including the 2 vacancies on the Audit Committee and the one vacancy on the Performance, Review and Scrutiny (PRS) Committee. The purpose of this report is to provide Members with an update on the delegation given to the Executive Director of Customer Services, in consultation with the Council Leader, Depute Leader and Leaders of all Opposition Groups, to fill these vacancies and to provide an update on the current position with regards to vacancies.
- 1.2 This report also updates members on changes to the political composition of the council, reflecting the recent advice from Councillor Donald Kelly that Councillor Douglas Philand had taken over the role of Leader of the Argyll First Group and would also be their spokesperson for Health and Social Care issues.
- 1.3 The Council is also asked to note that Councillor Robert E MacIntyre has stood down as a member of the Council's Administration.
- 1.4 A revised political management composition is attached.

Recommendations

- 1.5 The Council is invited to:
 - a) Confirm the nomination of Cllr Bruce Marshall as a member of the Performance Review and Scrutiny (PRS)Committee
 - b) Provide further instruction in regard to the resolution of the two vacancies which still remain for the Audit Committee.
 - c) Provide a nomination to fill current vacancies on:
 - i. Regulatory Cohort/PPSL Committee
 - ii. Argyll and Bute Licensing Board
 - iii. PRS Committee.
 - d) Note the revised political composition of the Council.

ARGYLL AND BUTE COUNCIL

COUNCIL

Customer Services

29th September 2016

POLITICAL MANAGEMENT ARRANGEMENTS

2.0 INTRODUCTION

- 2.1 The Council at their meeting on 30th June 2016 gave consideration to a report updating them on revised Political Management Arrangements within the Council and the vacancies which have arisen on the Councils committees and other outside bodies/organisations.
- 2.2 The purpose of this report is to provide Members with an update on the delegation given to the Executive Director of Customer Services, in consultation with the Council Leader, Depute Leader, and Leaders of all Opposition Groups, to fill the vacancies on the Audit and Performance Review and Scrutiny Committee. It also addresses the vacancies on the Regulatory Cohort/PPSL Committee and the Argyll and Bute Licensing Board which was deferred to September and a subsequent vacancy on the PRS Committee.
- 2.4 In addition the report updates Council on revised political management arrangements following changes to the council's political composition.

3.0 RECOMMENDATIONS

3.1 The Council is invited to:

- a) Confirm the nomination of Cllr Bruce Marshall as a member of the Performance Review and Scrutiny (PRS)Committee
- b) Provide further instruction in regard to the resolution of the two vacancies which still remain for the Audit Committee.
- c) Provide a nomination to fill current vacancies on:
 - i. Regulatory Cohort/PPSL Committee
 - ii. Argyll and Bute Licensing Board

- iii. PRS Committee.
- d) Note the revised political composition of the Council.

4.0 DETAIL

4.1 <u>Vacancies on Committees</u>

Following the delegation agreed at Council in June the only nomination that has come forward for a vacant committee position is that of Councillor Marshall who has indicated he would be willing to serve on the PRS Committee.

This leaves 2 vacancies which require to be filled on the Audit Committee and a further vacancy on the PRS Committee arising from the resignation of Councillor Anne Horn as a PRS Committee member.

A further vacancy exists on the Regulatory Cohort/PPSL Committee and on the Licensing Board which is appointed from the Council's Regulatory Cohort. It was agreed at Council in June that consideration of these vacancies would be deferred to September.

4.1 Political Composition of the Council

- 4.1.1 The political composition of the Council has been updated to reflect the recent intimation by Councillor Donald Kelly that, as of 1st August 2016, Councillor Douglas Philand had taken over the role of Leader of the Argyll First Group and the role of the group's spokesperson for Health and Social Care issues.
- 4.1.2 Councillor Robert E MacIntyre has advised that he has stood down from the Administration of the Council as of 22nd August 2016.
- 4.1.3 The revised political composition of the Council is attached at Appendix 1.

5. CONCLUSION

- **5.1** Council is invited confirm the nomination of Cllr Bruce Marshall as a member of the Performance Review and Scrutiny (PRS) Committee
- 5.2 The current position is that there continues to be two vacancies on the Audit Committee and a further vacancy on the PRS Committee. A further vacancy exists on the Regulatory Cohort/PPSL Committee and on the Licensing Board which is appointed from the Council's Regulatory Cohort and it was previously agreed that consideration of these two vacancies would be deferred to September. Members are therefore asked to provide further instructions with a view to filling these positions.
- 5.3 The council is invited to note the changes to the political composition of the Council in respect of Councillor Douglas Philand taking over the role of Leader of

the Argyll First Group from Donald Kelly; and that Councillor Robert E MacIntyre has stood down from the Council's Administration as of 22nd August 2016.

6 IMPLICATIONS

- 6.1 Policy None
- 6.2 Financial None
- 6.3 Legal None
- 6.4 HR None
- 6.5 Equalities None
- 6.6 Risk On-going vacancies pose a risk to effective elected member engagement in decision making processes.
- 6.7 Customer Service None

Douglas Hendry Executive Director of Customer Services

15th September 2016

For further information contact: Charles Reppke, Head of Governance and Law – 01546 604192

Appendices:

Appendix 1 – Argyll and Bute Council Political Composition

Argyll and Bute Council Political Composition

ARGYLL FIRST (2)

Donald Kelly (Con)

Douglas Philand (Ind)(Leader of Argyll First)

THE ARGYLL, LOMOND AND THE ISLANDS GROUP (11)

Rory Colville (LD)
Maurice Corry (Con)
Robin Currie (LD)
Mary Jean Devon
Kieron Green (Ind)
David Kinniburgh (Con)
Roddy McCuish

Aileen Morton (LD)

Ellen Morton (LD) (Leader of the Argyll, Lomond and the Islands Group)(Depute Leader of the Council)

Gary Mulvaney (Con) Elaine Robertson (Ind)

ALLIANCE OF INDEPENDENT COUNCILLORS (7)

Alistair MacDougall (Ind)
Robert G MacIntyre (Ind)
Donnie MacMillan (Ind)
Alex McNaughton (Ind)
Jimmy McQueen (Ind)
Len Scoullar (Ind) (Provost)

Dick Walsh (Leader of Alliance of Independent Councillors)(Leader of the Council)

SCOTTISH NATIONAL PARTY GROUP (8)

John Armour
William Gordon Blair
Anne Horn
Julie McKenzie
James Robb
Isobel Strong

Sandy Taylor (Leader of SNP Group)

Richard Trail

REFORM GROUP (3)

Michael Breslin (Leader of the Reform Group)

Vivien Dance (Depute Leader of the Reform Group)
Bruce Marshall (Secretary of the Reform Group)

George Freeman (Ind)
Robert E Macintyre (Ind)
Iain Stewart MacLean (Ind)
John McAlpine (Ind)
Neil McIntyre (LAB)

Note:

Ind = Independent

SNP = Scottish National Party

NPA = Not Politically Affiliated

LD = Liberal Democrat

Con = Conservative

LAB = Labour

Argyll and Bute Council Administration Composition (19)

Rory Colville Maurice Corry Robin Currie Mary Jean Devon Kieron Green

David Kinniburgh (Depute Provost)

Alastair MacDougall Robert G MacIntyre John McAlpine Roddy McCuish Donnie McMillan Alex McNaughton Jimmy McQueen

Aileen Morton Ellen Morton (Depute Leader)

Gary Mulvaney
Elaine Robertson
Len Scoullar (Provost)
Dick Walsh (Leader)