Crofting Commission Elections

The first crofting elections took place in 2012 and the next election was held in 2017.  Elections are held every five years to elect six board members to the Crofting Commission.  Each croft is entitled to one vote, with crofters of multiple crofts having only one vote.

The electoral area is divided into six constituencies, and each constituency must elect one member.

  • Shetland
  • Orkney and Caithness
  • East Highlands (East Sutherland, Easter Ross, East Inverness and Moray)
  • Western Isles
  • West Highlands (West Sutherland, Wester Ross. Skye and Lochalsh)
  • South West Highlands (Lochaber, Argyll and Bute, Arran and Cumbrae, Small Isles)

View the 2017 Crofting Commission Election results here

Statement of persons nominated

Malcolm Burr, Chief Executive of Comhairle nan Eilean Siar, has been appointed as Returning Officer for the Crofting Commission Elections 2017.