Public Consultation on Proposals for Ward Boundaries

The Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland has begun its public consultation on proposed electoral wards for each council area as part of the Fifth Reviews of Electoral Arrangements. Its proposals contain recommendations for councillor numbers in each of Scotland's 32 council areas and the number, boundaries and names of wards. 

They are asking local people and interested parties to comment on the proposals for ward boundaries in each council area. The proposals will be on public display in council offices and published on their website. 

This period of public consultation lasts for 12 weeks and all comments should be submitted to us by Thursday 22 October 2015

Proposals for Argyll and Bute 

Proposals for wards in Argyll and Bute council area present an electoral arrangement for 33 councillors representing 7 3-member wards and 3 4-member wards, reducing the number of wards in the area by l and councillor numbers by 3. 

Proposals for the council area:

  • adopt suggestions from Argyll and Bute Council to improve polling district boundary alignment and provide a more administratively convenient set of arrangements;
  • improve overall forecast parity;
  • address forecast disparities in ward 8 (Isle of Bute);
  • decrease the number of councillors in the Oban North and Lorn ward by l and increase the number of councillors in the Dunoon ward by l;
  • make changes to ward boundaries in Kintyre, Argyll, Cowal and Lomond;
  • make no changes to ward 4 (Oban South and the Isles);
  • rename Isle of Bute ward to Bute but make no changes to other ward names; and
  • place the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park area that overlies the council area within a single ward.
Full details of the Commission's proposals in each council area are available on its website:
30 Jul 2015 to 22 Oct 2015