ARGYLL & BUTE COUNCIL

COUNCIL

CUSTOMER SERVICES

7 OCTOBER 2010

CHARLES AND BARBARA TYRE TRUST - APPOINTMENT OF GOVERNORS

1. SUMMARY

This report advises that two Governors of the Charles and Barbara Tyre Trust have completed their second terms of office and one Governor has completed their first term of office and the Council is therefore asked to make appointments to fill these vacancies. There is also one vacancy on the Trust which requires to be filled. The Council is required to make appointments in terms of the Charles and Barbara Tyre Trust Scheme which is a statutory scheme.

2. RECOMMENDATIONS

The Council should appoint three Governors to the Charles and Barbara Tyre Trust. The existing Trustees have recommended that the appointments be as set out in paragraph 4.2 of the report and the Council is invited to consider this recommendation.

3. BACKGROUND

- 3.1 The Charles and Barbara Tyre Trust is operated in terms of a Statutory Scheme made in 1979 under the relevant Education (Scotland) Act. The Statutory Scheme provides for a governing body of 10 Governors to be appointed by the Council. The Governors need not be Members of the Council.
- 3.2 The periods of office of Governor run for three years from the date of their appointment. The Scheme also provides that a Governor may be re-appointed but can only serve for a maximum of two successive terms and thereafter must vacate office for a period of one year before becoming eligible for further reappointment.
- 3.3 The current Governors are as follows:-

Name Expiry of First Term Expiry of Second Term

Mr Drew M Slack (Glencoe and Nether Lochaber) August 2012

Mrs Mary Smith (Tarbert)

Mr John A Clark (Crinan)

Mrs Isabella Souden

(Lochgilphead)

January 2011

January 2011

Mr Iain MacKinnon (Mull) August 2011 Mr Alexander MacPherson August 2011

(Dunoon)

Mr Geoffrey Page August 2012

(Southend)

Mrs Sara Rutherford April 2013

(Oban)

Mr Tony Leighton April 2013

(Campbeltown)

4. DETAIL

- **4.1** The situation is, that the following Governors have completed their second terms of office and have resigned from the Trust.
 - (a) Mrs Mary Smith. Mrs Mary Smith is not eligible for re-appointment.
 - (b) Mrs Isabella Souden. Mrs Isabella Souden is not eligible for reappointment.

The following Governor has completed his first term of office and has resigned from the Trust.

- (a) Mr John Clark. Mr John Clark is eligible for re-appointment but has declined to stay on the Trust.
- **4.2** The Governors of the Trust have notified the Council that there is a vacancy on the Trust and have advised that Mrs Linda Tighe (Ardrishaig) has expressed an interest in becoming a Governor and would have sufficient expertise to serve as a Governor.

The Governors of the Trust have recommended that Mr Iain MacKinnon and Mr Sandy MacPherson be re-appointed and that the three remaining vacancies be advertised for suitable candidates to be put forward for recommendation.

4.3 The Council is accordingly invited to make three Governor appointments. There is no requirement to appoint a Councillor to fill any of these vacancies.

5. IMPLICATIONS

- **5.1** Legal The Council has an obligation to appoint Governors to the Trust.
- 5.2 Financial none
- 5.3 Personnel none
- **5.4** Equal Opportunities none
- 5.5 Policy none

Douglas Hendry

Executive Director of Customer Services

1 September 2010